Three Rivers Marine

Page 4 of 8 < 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#1058613 - 12/31/21 07:00 PM Re: Native Steelhead hatcheries [Re: Salman]
Bent Metal Offline
Carcass

Loc: Sky River(WA) Clearwater(Id)
This is what I mentioned earlier, if the smolts are migrating into a massive wall of predators, all the habitat and ocean conditions mean squat. It sure seems like habitat and predators are something that we can manage to a certain degree, ocean nutrients and temps, probably not as much.

#1058614 - 12/31/21 08:13 PM Re: Native Steelhead hatcheries [Re: Carcassman]
RUNnGUN Offline
Repeat Spawner

Originally Posted By: Carcassman
And all of the predator control in the world is gonna do nothing with poor habitat, chang9ng oceans conditions, lack of food, and over harvest.

Wanna bet!

#1058616 - 01/01/22 11:09 AM Re: Native Steelhead hatcheries [Re: Salman]
Salmo g. Offline
River Nutrients

Rivrguy,

I'm no expert on the Nooch, and I likely miss a lot of things many places. I didn't mean to imply that the Wynoochee was some kind of mainstay of Spring Chinook production, only that the limited habitat capacity for producing springers was compromised and degraded by forest practices in the upper watershed, same as occurred in the upper Chehalis, Skookumchuck, and Newwaukum. None of the Chehalis basin has been prime spring Chinook habitat in the last 200 years. But parts of upper watershed reaches marginally provided the habitat conditions necessary for them to be there, so in those former times of salmonid abundance, spring Chinook occurred wherever the environmental conditions favored their existence, even if the total abundance was low.

Darth,