Willie boats! Puffballs!

Three Rivers Marine

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#116644 - 07/05/01 11:01 PM L. Columbia bar fishing
Krome Brite Offline
Spawner

Loc: Washougal, WA
Is anyone doing any good yet fishing the lower Columbia bars off the bank? I've been fishing the bars for about 5 years or so (see a lot of fish caught), but I still haven't caught a steelhead down there. What leader length do you use up there? I've used about 18-24". Should I be using more? I put a spin-n-glow/corkie on the leader. I shouldn't use bait too, should I?Also, I just use a pyramid sinker on a slider. Should I be using a dropper, or doesn't that matter? I don't know what I'm doing wrong? Anyway, I hear a lot of the fish that have already been caught this year have been small-like 5/6 lbs. BUT hey there's nothing wrong with that!! wink If I could only get one... frown

#116645 - 07/06/01 11:36 AM Re: L. Columbia bar fishing
stlhdr1 Offline
BUCK NASTY!!

Loc: Vancouver, WA
Personally when I get out to plunk, I go to the kalama bar. It's not something I do much but when we go it seems to be productive. I like a little longer leader around 36-40" and run a bead with a size 8 watermelon or orange/chartreuse spin glo. I also use a dropper that's about 8" long with a sliding lead. What ever it takes to keep it down as far as weight goes. You can add bait, ie. chunk of prawn, crawdad tail, something with some texture but it doesn't seem to make that much difference. Just make sure you're fishing the proper depth, you want to fish 8-16 feet for the steelhead and up to 25ft for the kings. Keep trying and don't be afraid to ask what the local guys are doing they're usually pretty nice and don't mind helping.
Keith

#116646 - 07/11/01 01:15 AM Re: L. Columbia bar fishing
Krome Brite Offline
Spawner

Thanks for the tips, stlhdr1!