LURECHARGE!

THE PP OUTDOOR FORUMS

Kast Gear!

Power Pro Shimano Reels G Loomis Rods

Willie boats! Puffballs!

Three Rivers Marine

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#168237 - 12/09/02 11:15 PM 1st DB, Alum. or Glass?
trailrat77 Offline
Returning Adult

Loc: rowers seat
I am going to be purchasing a DB for myself for Christmas. I have fished out of both glass (Claka) and alum. (Willie/Diamond Back) boats plenty of times, but I have little experience actually rowing. Because of the comfort and features I'm leaning towards a glass boat, but am not sure if a beginner should learn to row in a glass boat. I realize there is a learning curve to becoming good on the sticks and don't plan on floating rivers that I will get in over my head.

Any advice? Pros and cons to each type of material? Thanks in advance........

#168238 - 12/09/02 11:37 PM Re: 1st DB, Alum. or Glass?
trouter Offline
Parr

I asked this same question a few months ago and got some great feedback. I decided to go with a glass 14' Lavro/Lazydrifter. The lavros are a tough boat and the workmanship is amazing. It rows effortlessly. I would highly recommend looking at the Lavros.

#168239 - 12/10/02 12:17 AM Re: 1st DB, Alum. or Glass?
silver hilton Offline
Repeat Spawner

Loc: Out there, somewhere
I don't think your level of experience really matters in this decision. Any well made glass boat is very tough, as of course are the aluminum boats. Search back for this topic on this board and on ifish.net, and you'll likely get lots of good data.

I have a glass driftboat and an aluminum sled, so I'm not real prejudiced one way or another. I like the warmth of the glass boats in the winter. People say that the aluminum boats handle better, I don't find the difference compelling. YMMV

#168240 - 12/10/02 01:38 AM Re: 1st DB, Alum. or Glass?
Mooch Offline
Three Time Spawner

Loc: Kingston, WA
TRat,