Willie boats! Puffballs!

Three Rivers Marine

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#329898 - 01/29/07 03:41 PM Yakima River
Easy E Offline
Juvenille at Sea

Loc: Washington
Any of you guys fish the Yakima? Are there any groups or clubs that do trips over that way? I am fairly new to fly fishing and most of my fishing partners are gear fishermen. Have never fished the Yakima but am planning on making a few trips this year.

#330194 - 01/30/07 06:53 PM Re: Yakima River [Re: Easy E]
stonefish Offline
King of the Beach

Loc: Carkeek Park
Here is a link to a website with lots of info on the Yakima.
http://www.theeveninghatch.com/
Brian

#330225 - 01/30/07 09:37 PM Re: Yakima River [Re: Easy E]
Fish Whisperer Offline
Returning Adult

Loc: Belfair, WA
Easy here's another site with good info on the Yak.
http://www.worleybuggerflyco.com
Make a few trips over before the irrigation season starts. Better to fish from the bank. Look at the river flow charts for info.
Great River to fly fish but I never caught big fish there. Not sure where your located but a lot of the local fly shops have guides that work there. Good luck.

#330869 - 02/02/07 11:34 PM Re: Yakima River [Re: Fish Whisperer]
Magicfly Offline
River Nutrients

Loc: Pasco Bulldog country
Fished it quit a bit before moving out of Yakitraz. Fall time was my favorite time of year, after the flip flop. Total accessibility. The Yak is an evening fishery for sure. And a drift boat is a huge plus in the summer time.

Here's a couple pointer's. After the flip flop, and if wading. Park the car and WALK the river from the highway. Sooner than later you'll spot the dimples of fish feeding along the shore. These fish are fished over day after day, and spook very easy! It doesn't take much to put them down.

And think mm16.

Mf

"Go hard, today Can't worry the past, coz that yesterday". GO COUGS!!!

#331009 - 02/03/07 11:51 PM Re: Yakima River [Re: Magicfly]
Katmai Kid Offline
Fry

Loc: Tacoma