LURECHARGE!

THE PP OUTDOOR FORUMS

Kast Gear!

Power Pro Shimano Reels G Loomis Rods

Willie boats! Puffballs!

Three Rivers Marine

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#414615 - 02/14/08 12:10 PM What kind of blank?
Pugnacious Offline
Spawner

Loc: It's funny to me!
Alrighty,

I am going to make an attempt at building my first fly rod soon. I just started fly fishing last summer and dont have a heavy enough rod for the steelhead and salmon. All I have is a 5-6 wt.

What I need to know is what is a good rod blank for around or under $100? It does not have to be something fancy. Like I said this is my first attempt at building a rod. Thanks for any advice.

Shawn

Don't sweat the petty things, pet the sweaty things.

Boise State- National title, here we come!

#414750 - 02/14/08 04:09 PM Re: What kind of blank? [Re: ]
D3Smartie Offline

Loc: Bainbridge Island WA
Give anglers workshop in Woodland a call. They have tons of blanks and kits for building a rod.

#414971 - 02/14/08 09:53 PM Re: What kind of blank? [Re: D3Smartie]
HURRICANE Offline
Parr

Loc: THURSTON COUNTY
Ditto: Rainshadow- 9' 8 weight
I'd also want a small extension butt below the reel seat.

#415169 - 02/15/08 02:10 PM Re: What kind of blank? [Re: HURRICANE]
Pugnacious Offline
Spawner

Thanks for the help so far guys. Appreciate it. I have been perusing the Cabela's catalog just ot get an idea of the stuff I need to get a hold. Not going to buy it from them. I think that I am going to make all my own stuff too. Like the rod dryer and the wrapping setup. Seems pretty easy to make and alot less expensive to do that.

#415362 - 02/16/08 08:35 PM Re: What kind of blank? [Re: Pugnacious]
chrome/22 Offline
Captain C/22 - Team Stay Up Right!

Loc: Hurricane Ridge , Wa.
I'd go with a Rainshadow RX-6 Forecast blank. I'd also agree to go with the 9' 8 weight & add a fighting butt. Great all around steelie bug rod...

The Forecast blank is a dark blue, a 2 pc. blank runs for $ 44.00