Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#64563 - 01/20/02 01:58 PM Question for the REAL fishermen
Fishboy5 Offline
Parr

Loc: Battle Ground, WA
The dark side is falling, and I want out. laugh
I would like to get into fly fishing, but have no idea where to start. I was on orvis.com and they have a line of tackle called Clearwater. It is not really expensive, and I guess that it is essentially for beginners. Mr. Trout Master and Mr. Zen Leacher, could you help me?

#64564 - 01/20/02 02:47 PM Re: Question for the REAL fishermen
Trout Master Offline
Returning Adult

Loc: Edmonds
Fishboy, I'm kind've a novice myself, I have been doing it for about 8 years. I'm still learning everyday. A good place to start was to go to different fly shops and start asking ?. It took me acouple shops to find one that was helpfull.
You dont have to spend the big $$$ to get started.
I think cabella's has some low $ outfits to get you started. Also I know guy's now that go to Gi Joes and have bought fly rods there for $60.00 or so. Okuma reels are very low dollar but have nice qualities. I would start with a sink tip or full sink line to get statrted as that is where the fish are. Hopefully Zen Leecher and Fishingfella and Micro Brew can jump in here and give you more than I have. I will tell you this when you catch your first fish on a fly. You will be hooked. And the force will be with you. laugh

#64565 - 01/20/02 03:10 PM Re: Question for the REAL fishermen
Old Man Offline
Spawner

Loc: Silver Star,Mt
Now I don't know if I would call TM a real expert. All he fishes is lakes. A real expert would waste his time and fish rivers also. I agree with TM though. I got most of my gear at Outdoor Emporium in Seattle but I see from your post that you hail from Battle ground.What's close to Battle Ground. I guess from staying home all the time I seem to get into rambling whatever comes out of my mind. So TM please don't take me seriously Jim S. laugh