THE PP OUTDOOR FORUMS

Kast Gear!

Power Pro Shimano Reels G Loomis Rods

Willie boats! Puffballs!

Three Rivers Marine

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#680705 - 05/02/11 04:32 AM Soak chips or not for electric smoker?
steeliedrew Offline
SRC Poser

Loc: Snohomish
I have a Masterbuilt Electric smoker and did up some Rainbow trout, Coho, and Steelhead today. Overall it turned out pretty good. I smoked it at 140 degrees for about 7 hours using Hickory wood. I used a very simple dry brine that the fish sat over night in for about 10 hours before I took it out to dry. My question is this...Should I be soaking my chips or putting them in dry? I opted for the dry approach out of sheer apathy but the final product today was a very bold smokey flavor and not as sweet/smokey as I wanted. I'm guessing that maybe soaking the chips and using a bit colder of a temp may help? Also I dried the fish after the brine for about 2.5 hours before smoking. Should I dry longer? I've heard of people drying the fish out for almost a day until it is transparent before smoking.

Thank you,

Drew

"Dude...where's your boat!?" Team runaway drift boat prostaff.

Big Stick 2012: "EVERY thought of my being, is in regards to being a Hi-Tech Predator and I relish the role."

#680714 - 05/02/11 09:35 AM Re: Soak chips or not for electric smoker? [Re: steeliedrew]
Kramer Offline
Spawner

Loc: GH & PA, WA
Sounds like you needed lower temps, maybe less time and chips as well. I let mine dry overnight before throwing into the smoker so it's pretty tough/tacky on the outside. Oh, and I don't soak the chips. You want the smoke from them, not steam.

Edited by Kramer (05/02/11 09:35 AM)

#680722 - 05/02/11 10:12 AM Re: Soak chips or not for electric smoker? [Re: Kramer]
ParaLeaks Offline
WINNER

Loc: Olypen