Willie boats! Puffballs!

Three Rivers Marine

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#75151 - 09/12/02 11:22 PM bird dog?
jayjos Offline
Fry

Loc: puyallup WA
I have a 5 mo chocolate lab that i am now thinking about taking duck hunting this year. I'm new to the sport and i'am not sure how to go about getting hem ready for this. some people tell me to just take him and see how he dose,(that instint will take over).

#75152 - 09/12/02 11:40 PM Re: bird dog?
HBP Offline
Spawner

Loc: Everett,Wa
Do us all a favor...skip hunting with your dog this year and get em' ready for next year. Waterfowl season starts in less than a month,and there's absolutly no way your dog will be ready this year. If you train hard maybe the end of the season,will be o.k.,but you don't want to rush a dog thru training.

My dog was the same age as yours when I took her out...what a hassle. She had a good grasp of her commands,but her attention span was way to short. I spent all day chasing her around,along with yelling and blowing a whistle trying to get her to listen mad . I didn't make any friends with the other hunters that day! shocked I didn't understand why they were so mad. The next year was awesome,she listened way better and I saw how frustrating it was to have an untrained dog on the loose,when another dog came running to our blind wanting to fight. mad

I hate to burst your bubble,but I'd wait till next year,it'll be more fun for everyone. smile

- no boss, no clock, no stress, no dress code...no shoes,no shirts, no problems. - Kenny Chesney -

#75153 - 09/13/02 12:40 AM Re: bird dog?
fishgut Offline
Parr

Loc: Marysville
I agree with hbp, take your time and do it right.I believe in properly introducing your dog to the gun as well as the environment. Natural instinct won't kick in till about two years old,give or take. You want to take the time and adjust his or her instinct to suit your style.