Willie boats! Puffballs!

Three Rivers Marine

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#77013 - 10/14/03 08:14 PM Archery Elk
Big Bad Voodoo Daddy Offline
Spawner

Loc: Enumclaw
I've been scouting this herd for the last 6 months or so, been out checking for them once every couple weeks, and I'm thinking I might go try for a shot at them with my bow... Theres one bull in particular of course laugh

Now what I'm wondering is... How big is an elks heart? I've never archery hunted, never even hunted for elk. Just right behind the shoulder like a deer?

Will a 50 lb bow work? What kind of arrows/broadheads are you guys particular to?

Thanks for any info!

I'm looking around at other sites and they are pointing me in the general direction, but not quite the info needed....

Thank ya much!
Curtis

#77014 - 10/14/03 08:25 PM Re: Archery Elk
Huntar Offline
Returning Adult

Loc: Yakima, WA
Shot placement is the biggest key. Optimally, hold out for a broadside shot and double-lung him.
Personnally, I will only shoot four-blade broadheads (I lost an elk with a two-bladed broadhead that was a perfect broadside hit).
Also, if your bow will allow you to turn up the poundage above 50 , and you can still shoot it O.K. , do it.
Above all practice judging the distances. If you are wrong by only a little the result is a bad hit or a miss.
Generally, a heavier arrow will penetrate better, but if you get the broadside shot you should be fine, just get those four blades cutting through BOTH lungs, or you will be tracking a very long time.

#77015 - 10/14/03 10:25 PM Re: Archery Elk
Big Bad Voodoo Daddy Offline
Spawner

Loc: Enumclaw
So a heart shot wont do? I think I may use my compound instead of my recurve for elk then... untill I can get a bigger recurve of course.

thanks for the info!

Curtis

#77016 - 10/18/03 01:24 AM Re: Archery Elk
bowhunter Offline
Smolt

Loc: Newcastle wash