Three Rivers Marine

Page 2 of 3 < 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#910406 - 10/21/14 01:36 AM Re: Sky Chums [Re: MPM]
Larry B Offline
River Nutrients

Loc: University Place and Whidbey I...
I think I just missed the point - or was there one?

It's the person who has done nothing who is sure nothing can be done. (Ewing)

#910409 - 10/21/14 01:52 AM Re: Sky Chums [Re: ondarvr]
Lucky Louie Offline
Carcass

Originally Posted By: ondarvr
Originally Posted By: MSA
Hmmm, I'll have to double check on that? Usually the regs will spell out "closed to Chums" I've seen Chums harvested in the Snohomish this year.

Yes it is closed, I have been pushing for the closure for the last several years, I discuss it with the group that manages the run both before and after the NOF meetings.

Why are you promoting commercial fisheries only on the Snohomish Chum?

No you can’t have my rights---I’m still using them

#910429 - 10/21/14 08:26 AM Re: Sky Chums [Re: Lucky Louie]
ondarvr Offline
Three Time Spawner

Loc: Spokane WA
Some of these Chums could be targeted further out in the salt, but the tribes and local NI netting has been closed, and is supposed to be closed this year too.

They have over estimated the return on this run for the last 7 years, this year they say it will be down.

Last year they said there would be 10,000 extra paper fish, Without looking at my notes I think they said 37 to 38,000 would return and 28,000 were needed for escapement. They said it could be opened because the tribes possibly wanted their 5,000 share, which meant sportsman could have 5,000 also. I asked them to keep it closed for both.

It stayed closed for both and maybe around 12,000 came back.

#910431 - 10/21/14 08:51 AM Re: Sky Chums [Re: ondarvr]
Smalma Offline
River Nutrients

Loc: Marysville
FYI -
The 2014 forecast for the Snohomish is 26,000 with an additional 25,000 forecasted to return to Tulalip.