Rate This Topic
#923942 - 03/01/15 07:29 PM Lake Quinault-Interesting Read
JPbarbless Offline
Juvenile at Sea

Loc: Seattle
From The Daily World

Posted February 17, 2015 - 8:32am
Lake was never given to the tribe

In response to the Quinault Tribe owning Lake Quinault, there needs to be more research done by government entities. I have been researching Native American history for almost 30 years and have been nationally recognized for my research. Thanks to the Internet anyone can access documents pertaining to Lake Quinault and the reservation boundaries. Washington State University early map collections will show you the original agreed-upon allotments and survey from 1911.

Apparently this map was not presented to the court in the 1945 court case along with the agreed-upon survey of the reservation from 1902. The Quinault Reservation was created for the seven fish eating tribes on the Pacific coast, not just the Quinaults. The Executive Order never included water, only land for agriculture. There are court cases that even cite the Quinault Reservation is at the west end of the lake. U.S. attorneys prepared and presented that information in the United States v. Washington case (the Bolt decision). The Bolt decision stated that any fish that escape from the nets into Quinault Lake can be harvested by non-tribal members.

Anyone with a home computer can access these and thousands of other documents for their own research by searching for: Surveys, Executive Orders, Presidential Proclamations, Indian Agent reports to Congress, and the Treaties, Forest Reserve, Forest Service, National Park Service, and the Solicitor General’s Office in Portland.