Three Rivers Marine

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#96622 - 09/24/00 09:00 PM Lower Green Silvers
HSL Offline
Juvenille at Sea

Loc: seattle
Just read on the WDFW site that the lower Green opened up for silvers yesterday, a week earlier than originally planned. Anybody give it a try?

I fished it a few times last October to no avail. Threw spinners, **** Nites, you name it. Should I try tuna balls? Or maybe the kitchen sink? If anyone has any suggestions on how to take these fish from the slow, deep pools, I'm all ears and would be most appreciative.

Oh, and one more question about silvers on the lower Green. Are they good eating? (Or maybe I should ask, "Are they SAFE eating?")

Thanks for any help.

#96623 - 09/24/00 10:38 PM Re: Lower Green Silvers
grumpyr Offline
Returning Adult

Loc: Orygun
I've been eating Duamish Coho for over 25 years now and have yet to see any problems. My son with the extra toes also eats fish caught from there and he's alright too. In fact, I hear him in the basement now banging his dish. I better go feed him before he takes after the neighbors Rottweiller again. Those vet bills are really getting out of hand.

"I reject your reality and substitute my own"

#96624 - 09/24/00 11:29 PM Re: Lower Green Silvers
CedarR Offline
Repeat Spawner

Loc: Olympia, WA
My only success on Duwamish silvers has been with eggs. I like small baits and small hooks with a tiny flo red corky. Fish seem to like it, also. You have to have some tidal run to drift effectively in this stretch of the river. I've caught most fish while the tide is running out, but have also taken fish when the tide is incoming and your drift is upriver. Take plenty of leaders; the lower river is a snagfest. Take time to scout the river on an extreme low tide and you will save yourself some gear. Good luck and thanks for the info about the opening.

#96625 - 09/25/00 12:17 AM Re: Lower Green Silvers
Buddy Page Offline
Alevin

Loc: Seattle, WA USA