House Bill 1660

Posted by: jspecc

House Bill 1660 - 01/31/15 05:04 PM

Take a look and send your representative your thoughts. Its more important than ever to get involved.

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/billinfo/summary.aspx?bill=1660&year=2015

I'm not an expert by any means. From what I've heard and read so far it makes a move to prioritize recreational fishing over commercial, and keep money generated by recreational fishing(licenses, etc.) from being pilfered for other State uses. Recreational fishing generated around $71 million for the WDFW compared to the $1.5 million from commercial.

"(4) The legislature further finds that Washington will not be able to grow its sports fishing tourism industry, and compete with other popular sports fishing destinations, unless the fish and wildlife commission prioritizes recreational harvest opportunities11and establishes predictable and stable recreational fishing seasons that enable both state residents and visitors from around the country and around the globe to make long-term trip planning and tourism spending decisions that lead them to Washington's rural communities.

(5) The legislature further finds that recreational fisheries are capable of avoiding the harvest of endangered fish species through selective harvest practices, thereby often increasing access to harvestable populations. Current state policies often result in fisheries management decisions that constrain recreational fishing opportunities and seasons in favor of nontribal commercial fisheries incapable of selective harvest practices, thereby harming too many endangered fish and limiting access to harvestable populations.