[Q] Fly Fishing In Puget Sound?

Posted by: A Moochin' Man

[Q] Fly Fishing In Puget Sound? - 08/28/01 09:36 PM

Hi,

After a trip to Whidbey for sea-run cutts, I got to wondering whether Coho will take flies out in the salt, e.g., on possession, off bush point, or anywhere they're rollin'?

I'm thinking of trying a weight-forward, sinking line with one of my sea-run cutt patterns.

Has anyone any experience they might want to share?

Take care,
Posted by: rainycity

Re: [Q] Fly Fishing In Puget Sound? - 08/28/01 10:05 PM

Absolutely they will..
Take a fly rod out trolling with you and just try bouncing a fly ascross the top of the water for something to do..
Posted by: NUTS FOR LOOMIS

Re: [Q] Fly Fishing In Puget Sound? - 08/28/01 10:09 PM

HEY, MOOCHING MAN I'VE BEEN FLYFISHING FOR SILVERS OFF OF POINT NO POINT FOR FOUR YEARS.WHEN THE FISH ARE IN IT CAN BE GREAT FISHING.I USE A 9 FT. 8 WEIGHT ST.CROIX, MEDIUM TO FAST SINK TIP CORTLIN BRAND.PINK &WHITE OR GREEN & WHITE CLOUSER WITH LEAD EYES.WHITE,GREEN& PINK SHRIMP PATTERNS WORK VERY WELL TO.ONCE & A WHILE YOU CAN GET KINGS.ITS WORTH THE TIME & MONEY.NUTS
Posted by: A Moochin' Man

Re: [Q] Fly Fishing In Puget Sound? - 08/28/01 10:45 PM

Cool. I'm so there...

Take care,
Posted by: JasonS

Re: [Q] Fly Fishing In Puget Sound? - 08/29/01 01:44 PM

There is a guy I met at the Port Orchard boat ramp yesterday when I was pulling my boat out that guides the sound fly fishing only. He was chasing Silvers in Sinclair inlet and said the day before he had gotten several 6#ers. He was from a 253 area code.

Jason
Posted by: Chip Goodhue

Re: [Q] Fly Fishing In Puget Sound? - 08/29/01 02:15 PM