South Dakota rocks!

Posted by: NOFISH

South Dakota rocks! - 11/16/05 04:23 PM

Had a blast in South Dakota a couple of weeks ago with Bucket and other buddies. It was my first time back there, and all the stories are true. I've been hunting pheasants since I was 5 years old (with a BB gun of course!) in Ea. WA, and I literally saw more birds the first day than I've ever seen in 37 years combined!

The first day we were done in 45 minutes:

We got into some awesome Honker shooting too out of Final Approach blinds....Here's Bucket with a couple of them bad boyz:

Best part of the whole deal was getting to take a 14-month old Lab back there and seeing him hunt and retieve and improve everyday:

Total for the trip was 100 ringnecks and 38 geese and memories that'll last a lifetime!
Posted by: Sol

Re: South Dakota rocks! - 11/16/05 06:08 PM

Nice post, bud. smile
Posted by: Bucket/Good Sport

Re: South Dakota rocks! - 11/16/05 06:12 PM

Glad you had a good time SIR FEAR! Maybe next year we can do it again, and add in the river trip! By the way that "5-7" to you.
Ya what Sol said also.

Re: South Dakota rocks! - 11/16/05 06:36 PM

Sol's got it right though "a shotgun is a fishermen's worst enemy".....it's damn tough to shoot birds AND fish. Sure wish we could take sabbaticals every October through January.... beathead

Re: South Dakota rocks! - 11/16/05 06:51 PM

I'm workin on it!!! (at least that what my partner say's)
Posted by: BennyBlack

Re: South Dakota rocks! - 11/16/05 07:48 PM

Right on man. Sounds like you had a good time.

I bet your dog got spoiled with all those birds though. He's gonna be begging to go back every year. From the looks of it, I'm sure you'll be more than happy to oblige.

Re: South Dakota rocks! - 11/16/05 07:56 PM

BennyBlack: There's so dang many birds back there, I think you could teach a Saint Bernard to hunt!

Definitely hope to go back, but that 22-1/2 hour drive is killer!
Posted by: BW

Re: South Dakota rocks! - 11/17/05 12:01 PM