Area 11, Anyone Fishing around Tacoma

Posted by: fishenfool

Area 11, Anyone Fishing around Tacoma - 06/16/18 08:30 AM

Putting my boat in at Chinook Marina, Fished area last year and was not impressed, had my boat at Tyee Marina, that dock is crap, trip over protruding nails and boards, caught some kings but nothing over 16lbs (I had been fishing out of DesMoines for 30 years). I see they closed the area east of the Cliff House and Anchored Navy Ships. Use to fish Pt Defiance area for spring Kings and it was good, but that was years ago.
Just wondering if any of you have been fishing area 11 south end
Posted by: Terry Roth

Re: Area 11, Anyone Fishing around Tacoma - 06/19/18 08:41 PM

It's on and off, depending on where the baitfish are. Fished the Point yesterday and today, lost one at the boat, saw no nets out. LAst week was lights out! Had 8 seals/sea lions just north of the POint this AM. They have been doing well!!
LOTS of dogfish moved in this week. Sorry for the pessimistic news!

Average size blackmouth is 8-10#, getting smaller every year.
Posted by: slabhunter

Re: Area 11, Anyone Fishing around Tacoma - 06/24/18 03:49 PM

Took a friend and his guest on a boat ride to Pt Evens. We jigged the tide change. Foul hooked a herring and used it as bait for the guest's line. He caught the only fish of the day.

Nice 10lb chinook.

Re: Area 11, Anyone Fishing around Tacoma - 07/13/18 08:11 AM

Picked up a 10 lbr 2 days ago at BP on low tide, will try again on todays low,
Posted by: Silver1

Re: Area 11, Anyone Fishing around Tacoma - 07/13/18 05:20 PM

Closed now Tuesday thru Thursday starting next week. We went from no quota and lotsa opportunity, to a quota, and now a closure 3 days a week. Early shot of unexpected hatchery fish and blackmouth, so summer season cut in half. Oh well, there's always crabbing. Uh, no.
Posted by: fishbadger

Re: Area 11, Anyone Fishing around Tacoma - 07/13/18 10:44 PM