LURECHARGE!

THE PP OUTDOOR FORUMS

Kast Gear!

Power Pro Shimano Reels G Loomis Rods

Willie boats! Puffballs!

Three Rivers Marine

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#103094 - 01/24/04 12:03 PM Fly Rod Help?
Fish Hawg Offline
Juvenille at Sea

Loc: Woodland , Wa
I would like to get into fly fishing for trout, I'm a novice. I have a cheapo rod and real and would like to upgrade. I want it for trout; in Lake Merrill and Canyon Creek. Or were ever I can catch trout. I was looking at a 9' 5wt Scott V2; It fits the wallet better than a Loomis or a Sage. Is the 5wt light enough for small trout and what if I hook an 18"er also on tippets is there a general size you use for trout? Like when drift fishing steelhead I use an 8# leader for summers and 10# for winters. Also what reel should I get for about 50-60 dollars? What about line (brand) floating and sinking tip? If you think there is a better rod for the price Please let me know. Any advice is greatly appreciated......Ross

#103095 - 01/24/04 04:38 PM Re: Fly Rod Help?
Divers Offline
Spawner

Loc: Seattle
FH,
Scott makes nice rods. Any 5wt is perfecct for fishing lakes and small stream. Sage has an entry level rod (Sage LE) for about 150-175 and Orvis has the Stream line for under a hunder bucks in 2 or 4 piece. I have casted the Orvis and it is not a bad rod, I think it's better then some of the other hig end lines.
I do like Sage rods and the XP is my favorite , but I am thinking about getting the Orvis Stream line as a backup for lakes and small stream.

If you can, cast them and see for your self.

Lines; I like Rio for my 8wt but would go with a DT mastery series from SA or Wonderline trout from Orvis for 5WT floating.

As far as sinking lines go, SA has there wet cel, its a good line and it will do what you need it to do.

Reels, I prefer Ross but for the price range you are looking at, I would go with a Orvis (good reel for $40 and it has a disc drag)Clearwater, LL bean and Cabela's has decent reel for that price.