Power Pro Shimano Reels G Loomis Rods

Willie boats! Puffballs!

Three Rivers Marine

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#129815 - 12/09/01 04:24 AM Fly Reel/Line Q's
EggsGuy Offline
Parr

I have recently purchased a GL3 8wt 9'9" fly rod for winter steelhead and silver fishing I don't yet have the rod out fitted with a reel or line and don't really want to spend and arm and a leg to do so.
I read a post by "spoon man" about the Okuma reel, and I am curious which one of the Okuma reel that I should purchase and what type of line should I spool it with.Or if there i a better reel for under lets say $125

Also is the rod that I purchased any good. I am new to the "fly"fishing thing so...I will also ned some idea as to what flies to use.

Thanks

#129816 - 12/09/01 07:58 AM Re: Fly Reel/Line Q's
Migrating_Smolt Offline
Parr

Loc: Yelm, WA, USA
EggsGuy,
Try the Okuma Integrity I 8/9. It has a Large Arbor design, Strong disc drag, one way bearing on spool. Just check out Okuma Integrity web site.
Mine only cost a little over $50.00

#129817 - 12/09/01 08:20 AM Re: Fly Reel/Line Q's
Thumper Offline
Returning Adult

Loc: Vancouver, WA
I think you get what you pay for. We picked up an Okuma Integrity for this year's Alaska trip and caught probably 50 silvers on it, which might be a couple of year's fishing here but is a week's worth up there. The drag is OK but was not nearly as good as the drags on our higher end reels, particularly the Penn 1.5 G models. Those babies are the ultimate.

Please join CCA. After only 18 months total Pacific Northwest membership is over 7,000. We need you!

The walls of death have got to go!

#129818 - 12/09/01 10:41 AM Re: Fly Reel/Line Q's
Divers Offline
Spawner

Loc: Seattle
I would go with a Ross Cimmeron.