LURECHARGE!

THE PP OUTDOOR FORUMS

Kast Gear!

Power Pro Shimano Reels G Loomis Rods

Willie boats! Puffballs!

Three Rivers Marine

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#164264 - 11/05/02 10:24 PM Ethical dilemmas...
h2o Offline
Carcass

Loc: Portland
How do you handle them when they arise?

I've always been taught as a fisherman to release native steelhead. In my fishing life its the way I've 'grown up'

I've been fishing the OP rivers extensively for going on ten years and the more I do the more friends and associations I make, each with their own ideas about what is ethically correct. It seems most (alot of...I don't know, my experience is most) OP residents have grown up in a culture where killing native steelhead is an accepted practice, in some cases (not many though) necessary even for subsistence living. If I refuse to fish with people with whose ethics I disagree I am distancing myself from alot of really good people and I'm not really willing to do that. Yet...

On the other hand by not keeping my distance I am faced with having to watch native steelhead get killed. Okay..I've made the decision to fish with this person so I knew the situation could arise, the question is, should I do or say anything about it?

I usually handle it by engaging my fellow fisherman in the ethical conversation before we catch fish. Do you need the fish? is a frequently asked question. I am usually pretty persuasive that the fish is not needed. I've also developed a little more skill with the camera, getting a good or great picture seems to make a really big difference. The time for ethical debates seems not to be when there is a hookup or a fish laying on its side...and it is certainly too late when the wood shampoo has been applied. When there is a dead fish about the topic also seems to get little more sensitive.