THE PP OUTDOOR FORUMS

Kast Gear!

Power Pro Shimano Reels G Loomis Rods

Willie boats! Puffballs!

Three Rivers Marine

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#652524 - 01/10/11 09:26 PM PacNW native Brand new to fishing at 25, HELP! *****
mikelz85 Offline
Fry

Loc: Seattle WA
Hey all, I'm Mike, born and raised in Seattle, and I'm brand new to fishing. My dad took me up to Ross Lake in October, and I caught the bug. I've never felt anything in my life like the thrill of a fish, and just getting out there in the wild fishing (rather than catching) really isn't so bad either. I've decided there's nothing I'd rather do more in my spare time than fish, so I've after a bit of research, and buying some gear, I ended up here.

I'd love to start meeting people in the community and getting out to the water. Camping, nature, and of course the fish. This isn't a fleeting "flavor of the week" fad, or hobby, I really think this is what I want to do with my life, or at least a very solid part of it.

There's something so calming about fishing. I've never felt as good as I did those 3 days up at Ross Lake, and I don't think the fishing there was even the greatest (or at least that's what the experienced folks were saying)

I realize while trout are fun (I caught 3 up at the Ross Lake cabins, but the nice dolly we had to put back), there's nothing like the thrill of a salmon/steelhead, and it doesn't hurt that I live within a few hours of the best fishing in the world (I think).

So getting to the point, I'd like to think I have a clue about what I'm doing, but I really don't. A buddy of mine at work fishes, and we'll probably start going out together, but I need to know first, if the gear I've somewhatprematurely purchased fits the bill, and what I'll still need.