Willie boats! Puffballs!

Three Rivers Marine

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#921169 - 02/01/15 11:28 AM Help a N00b learn to catch steelhead on the fly
ieatfish Offline
Juvenile at Sea

Loc: Seattle,WA
I'm a long-time follower of the PP boards and personal friend of PP board member "Equinox", but am brand new to the Seattle area and relatively new to fly fishing & spey casting.

I grew up in the midwest, fishing for walleye, "panfish" , pike and muskie. Spending the first four years in the professional world in the fishing industry and living in the southeast US, I've had a lot of experience fishing across the country, and have come to realize that there's nothing I like more than catching steelhead.

I'm hoping that one of you guys/gals on this board would be so kind as to help me learn the basics.

Ideally, I would love to meet up in person with another angler, or a group of anglers in the Seattle area to fish, but I'll appreciate any pointers you folks may have for a total beginner.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

#921368 - 02/02/15 12:19 PM Re: Help a N00b learn to catch steelhead on the fly [Re: ieatfish]
Salmo g. Offline
River Nutrients

A name like "ieatfish" is about as totally inconsistent with the notion of fly fishing for steelhead in WA as can possibly be. I've read quite a few times on this very forum that fly fishers don't catch any steelhead. Have you discussed this desire to fly fish for steelhead in WA waters with your therapist? There might be a cure, but I don't know what it is.