Willie boats! Puffballs!

Three Rivers Marine

Page 2 of 2 < 1 2
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#974819 - 03/13/17 03:19 PM Re: New 2017 ocean bottomfish regs [Re: bushbear]
Keta Offline
Repeat Spawner

Thanks for that. Certainty is a big increase in the survival rate. I wonder if they can swallow their stomach back in.

#974824 - 03/13/17 04:58 PM Re: New 2017 ocean bottomfish regs [Re: bushbear]
eyeFISH Offline
Ornamental Rice Bowl

It's pretty amazing that any of them survive that ordeal. You and I would NOT fare so well if subjected to the same baro-stress.

As an eye surgeon, I worry a lot about the pop-eye syndrome. Besides the obvious mechanical stress of stretching the optic nerve, there's the release of dissolved gas causing intra ocular bubbles and corneal edema. If a human was subjected to same, there would also be rapid progression to cataract over the next few months from the lens coming into contact with the gas bubbles.

Makes me wonder if the survivors don't all end up permanently blind?

"If you don't kill them, they will spawn." (Carcassman)

The Keen Eye MD
Long Live the Kings!

#974825 - 03/13/17 05:36 PM Re: New 2017 ocean bottomfish regs [Re: bushbear]
eyeFISH Offline
Ornamental Rice Bowl

"If you don't kill them, they will spawn." (Carcassman)

The Keen Eye MD
Long Live the Kings!

#974826 - 03/13/17 06:47 PM Re: New 2017 ocean bottomfish regs [Re: bushbear]
Larry B Offline
River Nutrients

Loc: University Place and Whidbey I...
Thanks Doc, that is a hoot! And certainly makes the message more fun!!

As for Ray Troll, I've been in his shop in Ketchikan a couple of times and almost went to a recent band performance in Gig Harbor. Almost.

Edit: Rather convoluted explanations recently from WDFW seem to indicate that descenders may yet become required on the coast. Stand by.