Willie boats! Puffballs!

Three Rivers Marine

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#974335 - 03/06/17 08:34 AM Moist Waders Fishing Report 3/6/17
Jason Beezuz Offline
My Waders are Moist

Loc: PNW
Made it out to a river I know well this weekend to fish by myself dark to dark. Conditions were perfect. Visibility was 3-4', river had been dropping from high from high for days. I was shocked by how few fishermen were out; it was a ghost town unlike I've seen in years.

I fished very hard and with many different presentations in areas I've caught dozens of steelhead, and never got a bite. Never even a mysterious float down or tap on a drift. I've been fishing these areas for 12 years and they have been good to me. I fished known spots because I wanted to up my chances at finally tailing a fish this year of my own but it didn't happen.

I'm starting to worry this is a really down year for steelhead numbers in the PNW. Some fisheries started out hot but have now slowed to a crawl. It may be cold weather making fish lethargic or late too.

What do you guys think? Bad year for returns or typical?

Moisture level: Dry 1/10; snail slow day, scary low numbers for this time of year; depressing.

Maybe it's amphetamines.

#974357 - 03/06/17 12:36 PM Re: Moist Waders Fishing Report 3/6/17 [Re: Jason Beezuz]
Happy Birthday The Moderator Offline
The Chosen One

Loc: Tuleville
I think the numbers will be down this year on some systems. Some will be "normal". Just depends on where you fish, what you are fishing for (brats vs wild) and if you can time the freshets, spurts of fish, etc.

I'm proposing a hook ban next year, as that is what is needed to save our steelhead.

#974358 - 03/06/17 12:44 PM Re: Moist Waders Fishing Report 3/6/17 [Re: Jason Beezuz]
FleaFlickr02 Offline
River Nutrients

I've heard a lot of accounts of slow fishing, but I've talked to a couple people who have done really well. My experience has been very much the former on the few times I've ventured out.