Three Rivers Marine

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#805916 - 12/08/12 02:48 AM Sprial wrap for downrigger rods
Ofishal Bizness Offline
Smolt

Loc: Poulsbo, WA
I just bought 2 PacBay Rainforest II 10'6" blanks that's I'm planning on building into light DR rods for silvers and blackmouth.

I've never built or fished a sprial wraped rod before but it looks like it would work perfect for a rigger rod.

Anyone fish or wrapped a rod like this?

Member PSA Sno-King

Alumaweld Blackhawk 202 - Merc 150 Optimax - Ofishal Bizness

#805918 - 12/08/12 03:06 AM Re: Sprial wrap for downrigger rods [Re: Ofishal Bizness]
Chad Lukehart Offline
Juvenile at Sea

Loc: Sedro Woolley, WA
Absolutely, I built 3 IST1266, 2 7' 8-17# Bass Rods,2 Rainshadow RDR86MH, 2 RDR86M and just picked up 2 RCLB79ML's, and a RCJB84H of which all will be spiral. After I built and fished my first 1266 on spiral, I pretty much made up my mind on spiral wraped rods adn have been building them that way ever since.

#805920 - 12/08/12 03:40 AM Re: Sprial wrap for downrigger rods [Re: Chad Lukehart]
Ofishal Bizness Offline
Smolt

Chad can you point me to any good reference material on laying out this wrap?

Do you have a preference as far as transition 1, 2 or 3 guides?

TIA
George

Member PSA Sno-King

#805923 - 12/08/12 04:48 AM Re: Sprial wrap for downrigger rods [Re: Ofishal Bizness]
Chad Lukehart Offline
Juvenile at Sea

Loc: Sedro Woolley, WA
George,

What weight are the blanks you bought? 1263,1264,1265. I am assuming the blanks you bought are actually Batson Rainforest blanks that are now discontinued. That won't matter in the least, just curious cause you said they were Pac bay.