LURECHARGE!

THE PP OUTDOOR FORUMS

Kast Gear!

Power Pro Shimano Reels G Loomis Rods

Willie boats! Puffballs!

Three Rivers Marine

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#102552 - 02/20/03 12:09 PM More important: Fly rod or reel?
JumboShrimp Offline
Alevin

Loc: Renton
Hi All,
I'm new to fly fishing and I'm in the process of acquiring equipment. I don't have tons of money to spend on gear, not to mention that I probably can't appreciate the difference between a $70 and a $700 rod, yet.

So with that in mind, I'm looking for suggestions on first time gear. I can afford to spend a little bit more on either the rod or reel, but all the fishing mags and internet discussion boards I've read thus far conflict when it comes to which is more important. (I know they're both important) My budget is in the $300 range.

I will be fishing for mainly lake trout and panfish. But after reading the Westport Jetties thread, saltwater "black bomber" fishing looks interesting as well.

Thanks in advance for your advice.
(I will also be headed to Meydenbauer Center for the fly fishing show as well.)

#102553 - 02/20/03 12:45 PM Re: More important: Fly rod or reel?
JJ Offline
Juvenile at Sea

Loc: redmond, WA
There are many good less expensive rods and reels out there. Notice i didn't say low end because of the less expensive gear I happen to like better. St Croix rods come to mind right off the bat. I think these rods are great and for the most part. And the imperial series is around $150.

If you are going to be fishing for trout and panfish in lakes a 5 wt will do you good. I think that the reel is less important in this type of fishing as it holds line more then anything, my opinion of course. You might need a floating line and a sinking line if you are going to fish lakes. My trout reel is a Diawa and I have had it for 10 years and love it. Solid reel and I can rim control the drag if necessary.

JJ

#102554 - 02/20/03 01:02 PM Re: More important: Fly rod or reel?
D3Smartie Offline