LURECHARGE!

THE PP OUTDOOR FORUMS

Kast Gear!

Power Pro Shimano Reels G Loomis Rods

Willie boats! Puffballs!

Three Rivers Marine

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#373677 - 09/10/07 04:55 PM Salmon/Steelhead Fly Reel Recommendations?
ColeyG Offline
Ranger Danger

Loc: AK
I just realized that this board has a fly fishing section! A bit slow on the uptake I know.

I posted this over on the NW Fishing board but thought here might be a good spot as well. Sorry for the duplication and for the reference to the lowly Pink \:\)
_____

Howdy folks. I had a blast C&R'ing pinks on my fly rod over the weekend, but I came to realize that my fly reel is a larger piece of junk than I used to think it was.

I am pretty new to the fly fishing scene and know practically nothing about reels and such. I was hoping for a few suggestions for a decent mid-weight reel that wouldn't be too terribly overkill for trout, but would also be able to handle silvers/pinks and some light duty steelheading.

As usual, I am definitely on a budget and so my desire for "the best out there" will have to be balanced with the reality of my skinny wallet.

Thanks for the info!

Coley

EZ Thread Yarn Balls

"I don't care how you catch them, as long as you treat them well and with respect." Lani Waller in "A Steelheader's Way."

#373701 - 09/10/07 06:19 PM Re: Salmon/Steelhead Fly Reel Recommendations? [Re: ColeyG]
D3Smartie Offline

Loc: Bainbridge Island WA
well first of all i would say line wise you are talking about a 6wt. I am a big fan of ross reels as they have a great customer service reputation and i have never had a problem with them as far as fixing up reels.(not that mine have ever needed it)
A CLA 3 would be about perfect. Great value reel.

#373725 - 09/10/07 07:16 PM Re: Salmon/Steelhead Fly Reel Recommendations? [Re: D3Smartie]
ColeyG Offline
Ranger Danger