Willie boats! Puffballs!

Three Rivers Marine

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#66130 - 05/04/02 09:58 AM Trolling
chvatal Offline
Alevin

Loc: Gig Harbor, WA
Okay, now that I have 'Walter' and want to try something new. How do I troll? I have tried the wedding ring and such, but have never had a strike. Not one that I can tell anyways. Do you bait the wedding ring? if so, what do you use. Next how do I get it to stay down at the depth that I want, or better yet to get it go deeper that 4 or 5 feet. I tried trolling with a wedding ring. I let it sink to the bottom and then trolled around on speed 1 on the trolling motor. Other people out there trolling faster and they caught fish, but I could not. Any ideas? Also, do I need a sppon only or will a jig with a spoon and feathers work as well? I am new to trolling and tried of seeing the same scenery while anchored. Any help would be gretly appreciated. Or is there a website for these techniques.

Thanks-

Keith Chvatal

#66131 - 05/04/02 10:10 AM Re: Trolling
Banock Offline
Parr

Loc: Oakville, Wa.
Try running a lake troll rig (spinners) with the wedding rind on the end, you can put a worm on the ring if you want too.

#66132 - 05/04/02 10:54 AM Re: Trolling
FishMute8 Offline
Alevin

Loc: Tacoma
Hey C, try trolling a F4 flatfish frog pattern, or a roostertail, I have always had good luck trolling these two lures. If you want to troll a little deeper try adding some split shot to your line. The more you add the deeper you go. Try bumping up you speed to #2 or #3. Keep an eye on that new fish finder it should tell you where the fish are. Good luck, tight lines.

#66133 - 05/04/02 11:02 AM Re: Trolling
chvatal Offline
Alevin

Do I bait these? worm/powerbait? Do these lures that you suggest have the name on the packaging? i.e. can I go to a store and find these lovely things.