Three Rivers Marine

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#62716 - 05/14/01 10:10 PM Fly fishing?
Matt Offline
Juvenille at Sea

Loc: Bellingham, Washington
Hello everyone, rolleyes
I'm new to fly fishing and have only ever used dry flies such as royal wolves, and bug matches. I have been told that wet flies work much better. I have only one reel for now but am going to buy a new one to put sinking line on, my currant one has dry line. I was wondering if it would be wise to strip off the dry line and put on my sinking line that I have? Also how do you fish wet flies, I have some basic minnow patterns like Mickey Finns and other things, I also have a small assortment of Wooly Buggers. As far as nymphs, I have a set of Bead head phheasant tail and some other ones I tied myself, any help to get me on the track to catching fish would be useful. Is it possible to fish a wet fly on a dry fly line, just sinking the taipered leader down with the fly? And my final quiestion is, how do you use a strike indicator?>
Please feel free to e-mail me!

eek eek Thats a biggie!!!

#62717 - 05/15/01 12:20 AM Re: Fly fishing?
Chuck Offline
Juvenille at Sea

Well Matt if you are doin mainly lake fishing then go ahead and strip off the dry line, till you get the new reel. Then you are assured of seein a bigtime hatch happenin on the surface next time you fish!
Seriously though, there is alot to learn about flyfishing I would recomend htting a library and checkin out a book on it. Also type flyfishin into a search engine and you will find all you want. I know sportfishinbc has some excellent articles on chronomid fishing and virtualflyshop is another good un.
Right off the bat when you speak of "wet flies" I think of soft hackle flies that are "tumbled" down rocky areas of rivers. To me they are a different category then nymphs (pheasant tails, gold ribbed hare's ear, etc.) and streamers (wooly buggers, muddlers, etc.) I say this just to avoid confusion with some. Where you thinkin of fishin? C