Willie boats! Puffballs!

Three Rivers Marine

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#535685 - 09/08/09 02:41 PM Blacktail Behaviour Theories
Rocket Red Offline
River Nutrients

Loc: Elma
So hunting season is here for a lot of us, or will be starting really soon. I have been trying to do some scouting, taking as much time as I possibly can to learn places and habits of the deer in the units near my home. I don't have a lot of time to hunt, and thus most of my hunting will be confined to the first few hours of the day before work, and the last few after. That is just my lot in life, so I don't expect great things, but do hope for a couple of chances at a buck.

I am pretty new to deer hunting, having not done it for quite a while. I am hunting with a muzzleloader this year. The season starts Sept 26.

I would like to hear some of your general theories, about when BTs move (up in the mornings, down in the evenings), where they hang out, do you still hunt, stand hunt, or glass large areas? Do you like smaller units with heavy brush, big open units with smaller brush for glassing? What type of timber do you like to hunt and when? What is your favorite method to hunt BTs?

How do you rule out an area, or determine one as being a good one? It seems like every clear cut, or reprod unit I look in has deer sign, trails, munched off trees, poo, etc, and yet I see as many actual deer in locations where I don't see great amounts of sign.

I'm really curious as to how you all set your movements, stand locations, and any scouting tips you have. I have several places within 10 minutes of my back door that I have picked out. Some I have to ride my bike into, some I can drive and glass, some require still hunt methods, and others can be a combination?

Good luck this hunting season.

#535687 - 09/08/09 02:55 PM Re: Blacktail Behaviour Theories [Re: Rocket Red]
Castingpearls Offline
Repeat Spawner

Loc: The Rock