Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#1014548 - 09/28/19 03:14 PM Cowlitz issues
Carcassman Offline
River Nutrients

Loc: Olema,California,Planet Earth
To separate this from GH/WB.

I wonder if back in the "heyday" of the Cowlitz nmaybe WDG paid for some of the steelhead. TCL had a legally binding agreement about what they re required to pay for. WDG "may" have done more, on their dime. I know they did Tiger Musky there, and those weren't mitigation fish.

#1014562 - 09/29/19 11:11 AM Re: Cowlitz issues [Re: Carcassman]
Salmo g. Online   content
River Nutrients

Whenever the heyday of the Cowltiz was, the state could have spent state money on Cowlitz fish enhancement, but I have no knowledge of either agency having done so. On the other hand, neither agency (WDG and WDF) were not above spending Tacoma mitigation money beyond Tacoma's defined mitigation obligations. That contributed to difficulties in the 2000 license negotiations, with Tacoma even reserving the right to contract with a party other than WDFW to operate the Cowlitz hatcheries.

I've seen no records of 3 million steelhead in the Cowlitz as Chinook 1 referred to in the GH/WB thread. Certainly not 3 million adult steelhead nor 3 million steelhead smolts. The highest steelhead hatchery smolt production for the Cowlitz that I can recall was something north of one million smolts, maybe 1.2 or 1.4, far short of 3 million. And that was winter and summer smolts combined.

#1014567 - 09/29/19 12:41 PM Re: Cowlitz issues [Re: Carcassman]
Carcassman Offline
River Nutrients

Yeah, the State did often use the mitigation monies elsewhere/elsewise.