Willie boats! Puffballs!

Three Rivers Marine

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#1014549 - 09/28/19 05:02 PM Smoking/Canning Tuna
Idaho Mike Offline
Carcass

Loc: Post Falls Idaho
My neighbor went tuna fishing and gave me some of his catch. I have a lot of experience smoking as well as canning salmon, but none with tuna. Generally, I like to eat my fish when still fresh and not previously frozen and then I smoke and can the rest.

Anyone got any suggestions for smoking and canning this tuna, brine to use, etc.

Thanks!

#1014554 - 09/28/19 08:04 PM Re: Smoking/Canning Tuna [Re: Idaho Mike]
large edward Offline
Returning Adult

Loc: Brier, WA
I've only smoked tuna loins one time, and that was in my Big Chief. All I used for brine was straight Yoshida's original teriyaki sauce. I can't remember how long I brined it (guessing about 8 hours), but it was perfectly smoked after only 4 hours. It was incredibly tasty.

#1014555 - 09/28/19 09:10 PM Re: Smoking/Canning Tuna [Re: Idaho Mike]
NickD90 Offline
Shooting Instructor for hire

Loc: Snohomish, WA
Search the recipe board for canned tuna recipes.

#1014559 - 09/29/19 08:12 AM Re: Smoking/Canning Tuna [Re: Idaho Mike]
RUNnGUN Offline
Repeat Spawner

I just did some a couple weeks ago for the first time and it turned out great. A guy on another board sent me this. I brined it all, smoked some, some plain, some w/ fresh jalapeno slices.

So here's my generic salmon brine, which a friend gave me. I vary it up a little now and then, but here's the base, nothing special:
1 GALLON OF WATER
1.5 CUPS OF SALT (NON-IODIZED of course)
1.5 CUPS BROWN SUGAR
1/3 CUP LEMON JUICE
1 TABLESPOON GARLIC POWDER
1 TABLESPOON ONION POWDER
1 TABLESPOON GROUND ALLSPICE
2 teaspoons BLACK PEPPER