LURECHARGE!

THE PP OUTDOOR FORUMS

Kast Gear!

Power Pro Shimano Reels G Loomis Rods

Willie boats! Puffballs!

Three Rivers Marine

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#151863 - 05/19/02 07:59 PM Umatilla River??
Cruise Control Offline
Fry

Loc: Walla Walla, WA
Okay. I have been fishing the Umatilla River for three years (or i guess i should say this is my 3rd year) and have never even gotten a single touch from a Springer! I've fished anywhere from the mouth, Echo, Reith, to pendleton and nothing. I've mainly tried Roe and Spoons for these guys because i've always done very well with the steelhead doing this.
i live an hour away from the river so i only get to fish it around 7-8 times a year but still i'd think that be enough times to catch one of them. i just want to know why these fish are so mysterious! does anyone have the answer to these "tricksters?" an answer would sure be appreciated because this is a relatively good return year for them and i'm still doing very badly for these guys. Are these fish just moving all the time? is the water too hot? is it too low? any help would be appreciated and i thank anyone who can help very very very much!

#151864 - 05/19/02 08:26 PM Re: Umatilla River??
$$B-MONEY$$ Offline
Returning Adult

Loc: Eastside,Wa
First off, remember springers aren't steelhead although eggs should work well. Typically springers are bottom huggers unless its deeper than 20ft in that case sometimes they will suspend. Try fishing bobbers with your bobber stop set at whatever depth the hole is your fishing, sometimes set deeper so your eggs drag through. Make sure you have good eggs! And don't give up, springers are notorious for not biting all day then hitting anything in the "zone" for an hour or so. Look for rolling fish, usually there is a wad of them there. Did I mention pounding the heck out em till they do bite?

Vision Pro Staff
www.visionhooksandtackle.com

#151865 - 05/19/02 09:14 PM Re: Umatilla River??
centerpin Offline
Returning Adult