LURECHARGE!

THE PP OUTDOOR FORUMS

Kast Gear!

Power Pro Shimano Reels G Loomis Rods

Willie boats! Puffballs!

Three Rivers Marine

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#223852 - 12/25/03 06:40 PM new to steelhead fishing!!
buckmaster5x4 Offline
Juvenile at Sea

Loc: Silverdale
I am brand new to steelhead fishing. I have gone once on a boat with a guide, what a blast. I got a new steelhead rod and reel for my Birthday and am interested in fishing the pennisula. I live in Silverdale and probably closest to the sol duc? I was wondering if anyone can give me any pointers that will help me out. I will be bank fishing, so any help about were to fish, when, what to use and the technique to use will be much appreciatted.

Thanks Buckmaster5x4

#223853 - 12/25/03 08:37 PM Re: new to steelhead fishing!!
Dave Vedder Offline
Reverend Tarpones

Loc: West Duvall

#223854 - 12/25/03 10:42 PM Re: new to steelhead fishing!!
GZ Offline
Fry

Loc: Tacoma, WA
Listen to Dave, Buckmaster. Find a mentor, a great alpha angler that can bring the learning curve down to weeks instead of years. Don't fish in front of him- watch and download his every move. Hire a guide. The best ones will teach you, not just give you a trip dowm the creek and take your money. Do read- there are some wonderful books from Amato Publications that can help you along. And most importantly, pick one river and learn itwell. Don't shotgun around chasing fishing reports- by the time you hear them it already happened and you've missed it. Learn that river under low and high water conditions, summer and winter.

And for God's sakes, DO NOT read fishing and hunting "news". Keep your own journal to find best times or get a network of close buddies that fish frequently.

Be persistent, be patient, and practice. Luck when fishing only comes when persistence meets opportunity.

Have fun, do no get caught up in "boat racing" or firstwater-or die mentality.