Three Rivers Marine

Page 2 of 3 < 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#257664 - 10/11/04 12:14 PM Re: Flossing For Chrome
grandpa Offline
Three Time Spawner

Loc: brier,wa
Dave.....I didn't intend to generalize and am well aware of the normal use for the long rods..heck , you are the one who taught me that. I am not an expert in the rivers as I have lived a sheltered life fishing on the Quinault and the Queets mostly.

I should have said....My neighbor fished the Fraser this summer for Sockeye and he thought that the general rule was the use of 12' rods with 12' leaders....No floats....In Alaska on the Kenai flys are used but the reality is that most folks up there either floss or snag them. I have stood in that river next to lots of folks doing just that. I think you are right about the food fish angle. I tied my own flies up there and thought I was catching them the hard way in the mouth but I'm sure I would have fit the PP definition of flossing. big deal.

Dave you brought up the issue of why the Snohomish Coho don't bite and I agree but remember that yesterday was my first outing for Coho on that river ever. I have alot to learn and I think Parker has it nailed pretty good. We tried wrapped Kwikfish yesterday with no hits. Last year I fish for Chum and did real well with wrapped Kwikfish but did notice a lack of sport in it.

....Support the RFA rfawashingtonst.org

#257665 - 10/11/04 12:49 PM Re: Flossing For Chrome
bobert Offline
Alevin

Loc: algona
A true purist would never set the hook, infact he probally would never even use a hook. He would also eat nothing but safeway fish. A certain amount of logic must be used,
tempered with sportsmanship, which is a personal percieved value.

#257666 - 10/11/04 01:06 PM Re: Flossing For Chrome
Queetsqueef Offline
Returning Adult