LURECHARGE!

THE PP OUTDOOR FORUMS

Kast Gear!

Power Pro Shimano Reels G Loomis Rods

Willie boats! Puffballs!

Three Rivers Marine

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#387027 - 11/07/07 12:17 AM wondering about willapa hills elk hunting????
shadowless_nite Offline
Egg

so its my first year every hunting after my father in law and friends finally talked me into it. i am doing modern fire arm this season and from what ive seen in my local area its nuts. im in vancouver wa and just about every unit near here is swarming with people. i know the local area and well.... just dont like seeing this many people with this much pressure in the areas my chances as a beginner are very slim.

ive been doing research and the willapa hills area has grown some interest in me. though no one i know has went there to hunt. so i thought id ask around here and see if anyone has had any experience and can help guide a noob. im not looking for someones hot spot but rather some where i can atleast get started. im looking into this area specifically for elk. ive done my research and examined maps, satelite shots etc but it doesnt help to not know where to even begin in that area.

any guidance is appreciated
justin

#387774 - 11/10/07 02:37 AM Re: wondering about willapa hills elk hunting???? [Re: shadowless_nite]
Irie Offline
River Nutrients

Loc: South Sound
Where I grew up, Boistfort Peak (pronounced Baw-faw meaning Strong Wood) was the be-all end-all Mecca of local Deer and Elk Hunting, (and also keggers accessible only by 4x4) but by the end of the 80's it'd pretty well been hunted out.

You might try the southern section, Down closer to Hwy 4, than up by Hwy 6 where the tweakers and moonshiners have been poaching for decades...Speaking of which, it's the heart of Banjo-land. If you stumble upon a shack or trailer emitting a strong smell of Ammonia run away fast and quietly as you can.

#389319 - 11/16/07 01:42 AM Re: wondering about willapa hills elk hunting???? [Re: Irie]