THE PP OUTDOOR FORUMS

Kast Gear!

Power Pro Shimano Reels G Loomis Rods

Willie boats! Puffballs!

Three Rivers Marine

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#526981 - 08/10/09 03:23 AM Samish River. Has It Finally Happened?
Blu13 Offline
Juvenile at Sea

Once & a while I rant. And this is one of them.

I've been fishing it for over 10 years. Over that time I've witnessed the crowds getting bigger & more diverse. I've watched people who didn't care about leaving garbage or not respecting the property change their ways after they realized that we could lose the chance to fish the river. I've watched people speak up & apply peer pressure to reckless newbies. I've watched people take the time to bring garbage bags to the river and parking areas over & over in an effort to do the right thing. I've watched friendships grow with people who would have never met. I've seen the smile on a kids face when dad helped them land their 1st King. I could keep on going ...

Now I'm hearing that the property owners have posted a major portion of the lower river. I was also told today that one area that is open may not stay that way becasue of "problems".

Is this all true? Is the stupidity, recklessness, and disregard by the minority going to ruin it for the majority again.

I know the Ditch is not for everyone and this has nothing to do about fishing methods.

It has to do with respect. I think about the big pile of fish heads, skeletons etc someone left in the lower parking lot late last fall. Why? Why there? Why does the guy & friends driving the new $35k rig have to throw their breakfast garbage in the parking area? Why can't people use the Port A Pottie?

We all know it happends. We've all seen it and I'm sure some of you have done it. The question is, how can we stop it. How do we preserve open river. It's not just the Samish. I see it in Forks, the Snohomish can be a garbage pit in places.