Willie boats! Puffballs!

Three Rivers Marine

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#906330 - 09/17/14 12:39 PM arrow stiffness question
bota2 Offline
Returning Adult

Loc: Allyn
At 30 yards my field points group great. I switched to broadheads and they grouped right a good foot. I am using a left handed bow with 55pd and draw length of 28 and a quarter. The arrows are 400 spine 100grain. Do I need a stiffer arrow or opposite? I hope I used correct terminology, I am a newbie.

#906334 - 09/17/14 01:15 PM Re: arrow stiffness question [Re: bota2]
Dogfish Offline
Poodle Smolt

Loc: McCleary, WA
Which broadhead? 2, 3 or 4 blades? Some broadheads will cause the arrow to fly very differently than a field point. I went with a 3 blade Shuttle T. They group the same as my field points. Just my observations.

As far as arrow spine is concerned, I went with what my bow shop suggested.

There are much more experienced bow hunters here. Hopefully JTD will chime in, or one of the other guys. I'm a newb as well.

They call me POODLE SMOLT!

The Discover Pass is brought to you by your friends at the CCA.

#906351 - 09/17/14 02:35 PM Re: arrow stiffness question [Re: ]
JTD Offline
River Nutrients

Loc: Browns Point,Wa. USA
I agree with 1LM.

it is common to have to make a minor adjustment to your sights to account for broadhead flight PROVIDED they are grouping consistently at your max hunting range.

All of this is fixable though.