Three Rivers Marine

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#102415 - 01/10/03 11:59 AM Winter flies
Surffish Offline
Fry

Loc: Seattle, WA
I am new to winter steelhead fly fishing.

I've done my homework on fishing techniques but I don't know much about flies.

What would be a good set of 10 or so flys to get started?

SF

#102416 - 01/10/03 10:30 PM Re: Winter flies
Jumbo Offline
Smolt

Loc: Seattle, Wa
here's a list to get you started. i am assuming you're swinging flies, not nymphing.

Egg Sucking Leech
Sauk River Grub
Black General Practitioner (GP)
Orange GP
Marabou Spey (many colors)

#102417 - 01/10/03 10:53 PM Re: Winter flies
Robert Allen3 Offline
Spawner

Loc: vancouver WA USA
If you like tying tie large GP's in orange black and purple
If you hate tying like I do tie bunny leeches in black orange purple and pink
tie on heavy hooks I like 1/0's in most conditions larger is good too
fish flies you aren't attatched to emotionally or that took you half an hour to tie..
your flies will be constantly in the rocks fish flies that you don't mind losing a dozen of in a day. what i am saying is that cheap and simple is a goos way to go..

#102418 - 01/11/03 03:46 AM Re: Winter flies
stilly bum Offline
Returning Adult

Loc: SnoCo
Quote:
Originally posted by Robert Allen3:

your flies will be constantly in the rocks fish flies that you don't mind losing a dozen of in a day. what i am saying is that cheap and simple is a goos way to go..
Exactly. My winter fly box contains woolley buggers and bunny leeches in black, pink, purple, and red.

#102419 - 01/11/03 07:43 AM Re: Winter flies
fred evans Offline
Juvenile at Sea

Loc: White City, Oregon
All good choices above; I'd just toss in a couple more suggestions. Wted single egg patterns and large 'black' buggy things like the Kaufmann's stones or an upper Rogue pattern (you tie them in a wad of different colours) called the "Otis Bug."