Three Rivers Marine

Page 3 of 7 < 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#986528 - 03/08/18 07:13 PM Re: Skagit rally [Re: Salmo g.]
mitch184 Offline
Returning Adult

Loc: Lake Stevens
Backtrollin brings up a great point. As I witnessed a group of 4 bank fisherman last weekend wading right through a well known spawning flat. Thankfully it is probably a little early, but nonetheless. I cringed watching them shuffle, stumble and hop through the flat.

#986531 - 03/09/18 07:13 AM Re: Skagit rally [Re: Salmo g.]
RUNnGUN Offline
Repeat Spawner

Originally Posted By: Salmo g.
This conversation isn't going as I'd hoped.

I've been fishing the Skagit and Sauk Rivers since 1972. It has been rare for me to experience any conflict between gear types or boat and bank fishing methods. There have been a few times while I was fly fishing from the bank and boon-doggers in a boat floated and fished through the water I was fishing, but overall it has been really uncommon. So in my opinion all the ranting about fly and conventional gear conflict and boat and bank fishing conflict is being way over blown.

The conflict that has me concerned, and I hope it concerns you as well, is between those who want the river to remain closed to steelhead fishing and those of us who want the season to open. That is why I started this thread, and I thank all of you who have called or emailed to express your support for the Skagit season.

Sg